February 5, 2023

Government unhappy with wrestlers’ behaviour, unlikely to reconstitute oversight committee | More sports News

NEW DELHI: The executive is unhappy with the wrestlers’ behaviour and won’t reconstitute the oversight committee shaped to probe the sexual harassment fees towards WFI president Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh, Sports Ministry resources stated on Wednesday.
Sports Minister Anurag Thakur had on Monday introduced {that a} five-member oversight committee, headed via mythical boxer M C Mary Kom, will examine the fees towards the Wrestling Federation of India boss and in addition arrange the day-to-day affairs of the sports frame.

Bajrang Punia, Vinesh Phogat, Sarita Mor and Sakshi Malik, who staged a sit-in protest at Jantar Mantar for 3 days tough the sacking of the WFI president, expressed sadness that they weren’t consulted prior to the formation of the committee.

“The ministry has no plans to reconstitute the oversight committee to probe the allegations against WFI chief Brij Bhushan Singh,” a ministry supply instructed PTI on Wednesday.
“We have formed a fair committee under Mary Kom which will go into the details of the matter,” stated the supply, including that the federal government is unhappy with the wrestlers’ behaviour as they went public with their reservations at the formation of the committee.
According to resources, the protesting wrestlers believe the London Olympics bronze medallist Yogeshwar shut to the WFI president. In reality, when Yogeshwar subsidized the under-fire Sharan, Vinesh had stated that he used to be “sitting on WFI’s lap.”
The wrestlers had taken to twitter to specific their dismay on Tuesday.
However on Wednesday, Bajrang clarified that the grapplers wouldn’t have a subject matter with Yogeshwar however they anticipated to be consulted prior to the contributors have been finalised.
“We would like to speak with the Sports Minister after the Republic Day celebrations. We don’t have any problem with any members in the committee but we should have been consulted,” Bajrang Punia instructed PTI.
Asked if no names have been mentioned with them, Bajrang stated, “A discussion had happened and these names came up but we were told to come back on the names after discussion.
“But the names have been introduced prior to we responded in affirmative. Government will have to now not be unhappy with us. What have we executed, we’re preventing for justice,” he added.
Apart from Yogeshwar, ex-badminton participant and Mission Olympic Cell member Trupti Murgunde, ex-TOPS CEO Rajagopalan and previous SAI govt director – groups – Radhica Sreeman also are member of the committee.
Both May Kom and Yogeshwar also are a part of the the seven-member committee shaped via the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) to probe the allegations of sexual harassment and corruption towards the WFI leader.
Besides mythical boxer Mary Kom and wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt, the IOA panel comprises archer Dola Banerjee and Indian Weightlifting Federation (IWLF) president and IOA treasurer Sahdev Yadav.
The different contributors of the IOA committee are two advocates — Talish Ray and Shlok Chandra — but even so former shuttler and IOA joint secretary Alaknanda Ashok, who’s its vice chairperson.
The agitating wrestlers, together with younger Anshu Malik, Sangeeta Phogat and Sonam Malik amongst others, began the sit-in protest at Jantar Mantar right here on Wednesday and demanded the sacking of the WFI leader.
The wrestlers had accused Sharan, who could also be a BJP MP, of appearing like a dictator and sexually harassing junior wrestlers.
The wrestlers didn’t expose the identification of the athletes who confronted sexual harassment.